Symposium on Dogri Ghazal organized -
Symposium on Dogri Ghazal organized
Posted 29 Aug 2017 11:41 AM


A one day symposium on Dogri Ghazal was jointly organized by Sahitya Akademi and Dogri Sanstha at Dogri Bhawan . Held for the first time, the symposium discussed the overall scenario of Dogri Ghazal in the present context and its position in Dogri literature.
Addressing the poets, critics scholars and lovers of Dogri Prof Lalit Magotra, convenor, Advisory Board of Dogri in Sahitya Akademy said that the Ghazal not only has a specific form but also traditionally deals with variety of subjects and has encountered revolutions over the ages, especially after 1947 when there was a drastic change in the subjects of ghazal opted by the Poets. In Dogri it is as popular as in Urdu and our language has adopted it fully.
In her key address Dr Veena Gupta, the noted critic and former HoD Dogri University of said that ghazal is certainly one of the most successful genre in Indian literature. Due to extensive migration it is spread over a vast space of multiple languages including Dogri . It is the power of the Ghazal itself that inspired many Dogri poets to this uniquely universal genre. Earlier Dr Devinder Kumar Devesh OSD Sahitya Akademi New Delhi welcomed the audience and gave a resume of activities undertaken by Sahitya Akademi for the promotion of Indian literature including Dogri. Chhatrapal, President Dogri Sanstha presided over the opening session
The session was conducted by Susheel Baigana. Three papers were read out by Dr Sandeep Dubey, Susheel Baigana and Col Raaz Manawari on ‘new experimentation in Dogri Ghazal,’ Peculiarities of Dogri Ghazal’ and ‘Vazan-bahr in Dogri Ghazal’ respectively. Lively discussion was also held on the papers. The paper-reading session was presided over by prominent poet Gyaneshwar.
Dr Chanchal Bhasin presented the vote of thanks. The prominent litérateurs and intellectuals present on this occasion included Prof Nilambar Dev Sharma, Dr Champa Sharma, Pt Vidya Rattan Aasi, Deepak Aarsi, Dr Sushama Sharma, Prof Shiv Dev Manhas, Dr Padam Dev, Zorawar Singh, Prof Lalit Gupta, Inderjit Kesar, Vijya Thakur, Ashok Dutta, Krishan Sharma, Rajeshwar Raju, Rajinder Ranjha, Rattan Doshi, Vijay Verma, Randhir Raipuria etc.

Share via: WhatsApp or Email

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)