65th National Film Awards 2018 Full Coverage: Sridevi bags Best Actress award while Assamese film Village Rockstars win top honours - watsupptoday.com
65th National Film Awards 2018 Full Coverage: Sridevi bags Best Actress award while Assamese film Village Rockstars win top honours
Posted 13 Apr 2018 04:32 PM

Shekhar Kapur. This year, two icons of Hindi cinema, Sridevi and Vinod Khanna have been awarded posthumously. It's Sridevi's first National Award for Best Actress. Vinod Khanna, who passed away last year, has been announced the winner of Dadasaheb Phalke Award, India's highest film honour. Newton won best film and AR Rahman won Best Music Direction for director Mani Rathnam's Kaatru Veliyidai, and Best Background Score for MOM. Baahubali: The Conclusion won Best Popular Film, Best Action and Best Special Effects.
The jury of the National Awards awards is headed by noted filmmaker Shekhar Kapur. The jury panel consists of 10 members including Parinda screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla and Kannada director P Sheshadri. Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey are also included in the panel.

Last year, Malayalam industry won big after the actress Surabhi Lakshmi bagged the Best Actress Award, bringing the title to the industry after a gap of many years. The panel was also headed by Mollywood director Priyadarshan.

The awards will be given to the respective winners on May 3, following the schedule like every year.

Here are Highlights of the 65th National Film Awards 2018:
12:50 pm: Taapsee Pannu on Ghazi National Film Award win: #Aadukalam #Pink #Ghazi Hattrick of sorts. Proud, humbled and blessed! Hoping many more to come #NationalFilmAwards

MOM director Ravi Udyawar expressed his joy on Sridevi's National Award Win. He said, " Wow, she deserves it. I’m really happy it’s a great news for me because it was our film. She had done a fabulous job. We all are missing her now."

Also Read: 65th National Film Awards: Rajkummar Rao’s Newton declared best Hindi feature film, Twitter reacts

12:41 pm: Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna

Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Director: Pampally (Sinjar)

12:40 pm: Best Children's Film: Mhorkya
Best Film on Environment Conservation: Irada
Best Film on Social Issues:Aalorukkam

​12:36 pm: Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment is Baahubali 2 (Telugu).

12:35 pm: Best Supporting Actor goes to Fahad Fazil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum and Best Supporting Actress is Divya Dutta for Irada.

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film for National Integration goes to Marathi film, Dhappa.

12:34 pm: Best Director: Jayaraj (Bhayanakam)

Best Actor: Ridhi Sen (Nagarkirtan)

12:31 pm: Late Sridevi gets Best Actress for Mom.
12:23 pm: Best Male Playback Singer: Yesudas

Best Child Artist: Anita Das for The Village Rockstar

​12:19 pm: Best Screenplay (Original): Thondimuthalum Driksaakshiyum

Best Screenplay (Adapted): Bhayanakam

Best Cinematography: Bhayankam

Best Female Playback Singer: Waang by Sasha Tirupathi (Kaatru Veliyidai)

12:17 pm: Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind (Ladakhi Film)

Best Location Sound Recordist: The Village Rockstar

12:14 pm: Best Music Director: Kaatru Veliyidai by Mani Ratnam

Best Song: Kaatru Veliyidai (AR Rahman)

Best Background Score: MOM (AR Rahman)
Best Makeup Artist: Ram Rajak

Best Costume: Govinda Mandal for Nagar Kirtan

Best Production Design: Take Off (Malayalam) Santosh Raman

Best Editing: Village Rockstar (Assamese) - Reema Das

12:11 pm: Best VFX: Baahubali 2

Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan

Best Lyrics: March 22 (Kannada film) song: Muthuratna

12:10 pm: Best Telegu Film: Ghazi

Best Gujarati Film: DHH

Best Action Direction: Baahubali 2

Best Choreography: Toilet: Ek Prem Katha (Gori Tu Latth Maar) by Ganesh Acharya

12:09 pm: Best Tamil Film: To Let

12:08pm: Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi

12:07 pm: Best Hindi Film: NEWTON, directed by Amit Masurkar, star cast: Rajkummar Rao

11:52 am: Shekhar Kapur is announcing the awards for Best Feature Films category

11:49 am: Best Critic On Cinema Award goes to Giridhar Jha, Special Mention to Sunil Mishra

11:47 am: Best Short Film Fiction- Maiyat
Best Film On Family Values- Happy Birthday
Best Direction- Pravash Ch Nivandan, Nagraj Manule
Best Cinematography- Eye Test, Don

11:46 am: Best Investigative Film- 1984 When The Sun Did Not Rise

Best Animation Film- Fish Curry, Maachar Jhol
Special Jury Award: The Old Man, Monday

11:45 am: Best Adventure Film: Ladakh Chale Rickshaw Waale.

11:44 am: Non-Feature Films: Best Educational Film The Girls We Were and The Women We Are.

In 2017, Akshay Kumar bagged the National Film Award for Best Actor for his film Rustom while Surabhi Lakshmi for Minnaminungu- the Firefly. Young actress Zaira Wasim won the National Film Award for Best Supporting Actress in Dangal and Sonam Kapoor won the special mention for her critically-acclaimed performance in Neerja.

Share via: WhatsApp or Email

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)