National voters day: All you need to know -
National voters day: All you need to know
Posted 25 Jan 2019 12:52 PM

India will celebrate the 7th National Voters' Day today, i.e. January 25, 2017. It was instituted in 2011, in remembrance of the inception of the Election Commission of India in 1950.The National Voters' Day aims at ensuring universal adult franchise, increasing the enrolment of voters and encouraging participation of newly eligible young voters.

Ace table tennis player and Commonwealth medallist Manika Batra will participate in the programme. Batra has been chosen as an ambassador by the office of the Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO). The event marking National Voters’ Day will also see hosting of street plays and felicitation of polling officials. In view of the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections, ‘No Voter to be Left Behind’ has been selected as the theme for the National Voters’ Day.

On Tuesday, the office of the Delhi CEO had launched a Voter Awareness Forum (VAF), an informal forum for generating discussions and building awareness on the election process.

“We had recently launched an awareness programme on EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines) and VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail), as part of which we have installed kiosks at various public places across Delhi. This forum has been launched at 300 locations in the city, from state to district levels,” Delhi CEO Ranbir Singh had said at the launch of the forum.

Facebook and Google also started reminding voters to register themselves on the occasion of National Voters Day. Google pushed reminders to Android users while the voter registration was sent to Facebook users eligible to vote.

With over 200 million users in India, Facebook said it has designed a ‘Register Now’ button to encourage Indian citizens to register themselves with the Election Commission of India. Facebook had said in a statement that the remainder will be rolled out in 13 Indian languages including English, Hindi, Gujarati, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Kannada, Punjabi, Bengali, Urdu, Assamese, Marathi and Oriya.

Share via: WhatsApp or Email

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)