Balwant Thakur conferred with Prithivi Raj Kapoor Award for 2017 -
Balwant Thakur conferred with Prithivi Raj Kapoor Award for 2017
Posted 21 Mar 2017 11:14 AM


Director Natrang, Balwant Thakur, was conferred with the prestigious ‘Prithivi Raj Kapoor Samman’ for his life-time contribution to theatre for the year 2017 at Shri Radhakrishan Auditorium MDU, Rohtak (Haryana).
Instituted by Ras Kala Manch, Haryana, this national theatre award presentation was supported by Ministry of Culture, Government of India, National Academy of Music Dance and Drama, North Zone Cultural Centre, Department of Information and Public Relations, Government of Haryana and Maharishi Dayanand University.
The Award was presented by Prof Bejinder Kumar Punia, Vice Chancellor of the Maharishi Dayanand Univer-sity, Rohtak.
This major National Theatre Awards festival also coincided with a theatre festival featuring plays by the repertory company of National School of Drama. The Award presentation was followed by the presentation of the play ‘Ghazab Teri Ada’ by the repertory Company of National School of Drama under the direction of Prof Wamen Kandere.
Prominent among those honoured on the occasion included Mrs Dolly Ahluwalia Tewari of ‘Vicky Donor’ ‘Haider’ ‘ Omkara’and ‘Rangoon’ fame.
Conferred with highest Indian honor in performing arts i.e, Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for Direction in theatre in addition with Padamshree, Balwant Thakur is the youngest theatre director who has over 300 National/ International theatre festival to his credit as a theatre director.

Share via: WhatsApp or Email

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)